Emergency Management

dannylchambersDirector - Hon. Danny Chambers, County Judge

Physical Address:
107 N.E. Vernon
Glen Rose, TX 76043
Coordinator - Brian Jones

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 851
Glen Rose, TX 76043

Phone: 254-897-2135
Fax: 254-897-4568

Emergency Management in Texas dates to 1951, with the passage of the Civil Protection Act by the Texas Legislature. The Texas Disaster Act of 1975created the Governor’s Division of Emergency Management(DEM).

The Emergency Management of today is a multifaceted comprehensive program for dealing with all large scale emergencies and disasters. The Mayor of each incorporated municipality and the County Judge of each county is designated as the Emergency Management Director for each political subdivision.

As the Governor’s designated agents, the County Judge, and mayors, may exercise the posers, on an appropriate local scale, granted the governor by the Texas Disaster Act of 1975.

The county may also designate a coordinator (EMC) to serve as an assistant.

Our Mission

To protect the citizens and property of Somervell County from destructive forces of natural and man-made disasters through a comprehensive program of training, mitigation, preparedness, response, and recover.


Those activities which eliminate or reduce the probability of disaster.


Those activities which governments, organizations, and individuals develop to save lives and minimize damage.


Those actions that minimize loss of life and property damage and provide emergency assistance.


Those short and long-term activities which restore city operations and help return the community to a normal state.

When Somervell County faces an emergency situation, the Emergency Operation Center may be activated. The Center works with county, state, and federal agencies, as well as the city departments to respond effectively and quickly to provide for the continuity of services for the public.


FEMA (Effective 09/21/2023)

How to Access the FEMA Flood Map Service Center



0025 D 0035 D 0040 D 0045 D 0055 D 0060 D 0065 D 0070 D 0100 D 0125 D 0130 D 0135 D 0140 D 0145 D 0155 D 0160 D 0165 D 0170 D 0200 D 0250 D